Lithium Ion Battery Wins Nobel Prize


Alais Alzaga, Media Arts Editor

On October 9th, 2019, the innovators of one of the most important inventions, the lithium-ion battery, won the Nobel Prize in chemistry. John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino each had their contributions that led to the creation of this revolutionary product. The lithium-ion battery is used in many of our every day devices, like almost all electronics including cars, solar power storage, and yes – this includes handheld devices such as phones and cameras.

Lithium-ion batteries help lead a future in a world free of fossil fuels. The lithium-ion battery has been in production for since it first became commercially available, in 1985, by Akira Yoshino’s version of the battery. One of the recipients, John B. Goodenough, has waited long enough as he is the oldest recipient of this award at the age of 97. These scientists are well deserving of this award, helping the world in so many ways. The lithium-ion battery has set a path for a cleaner world and it is thanks to these scientists that there is a glimmer of hope for the environment.

The Nobel Prize was first awarded in 1901 and has been a high honor for more than a century, with many different ways to win it. They have different subjects including science, literature, math, and even for making strides in human rights and peace.