NFL Honors HOF Inductees 2021


Alexzander (AJ) Braaten, Reporter

Each year for the past decade the NFL has hosted the “NFL Honors Awards Ceremony” to recognize the Hall of Fame class of that season. Out of an initial group of 130 potential Hall of Fame candidates the group was whittled down throughout the year to a finalist group of 15 in January. 8 of those 15 were inducted into the hall on February 6th to be enshrined in Canton Ohio at the Pro Football Hall of Fame museum.

For the Hall of Fame class they chose 8 former players & coaches out of a semi-finalist group of 25. The final inductees include QB Peyton Manning, WR Calvin Johnson, OG Alan Faneca, Safety John Lynch, Head Coach Tom Flores, Head Scout Bill Nunn, WR Drew Pearson, and CB Charles Woodson. Among those 8, Peyton Manning, Charles Woodson, and Calvin Johnson are all “First-Ballot” meaning they made it into the Hall of Fame after their first year of eligibility, an honor that only about 25% of HOF nominees achieve. Of the two non-player nominees we have Tom Flores who was the head coach of the Oakland Raiders from 1979 to 1987, leading them to Super Bowls XV and XVIII (Both of which his team won). Then the other non-player is Bill Nunn who was the Head Scout for the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1968 to 2014; Nunn had a knack for drafting talent and was undoubtly a key factor for the team’s dynasty throughout the 70’s and all future HOF players who were drafted in the steel city. Speaking of which, the next inductee, Alan Faneca was drafted to the Steelers by Bill Nunn in 1998 and in his career he only ever missed one game and was named to the pro bowl 9 consecutive times. The last two players, Drew Pearson, and  John Lynch played for the Cowboys and Buccaneers respectively as Receiver and Safety, they both were integral pieces to their teams’ success as they both helped their teams to Super Bowl wins.

Of those 15 finalists several of them didn’t quite make the cut this year and will have to go through the process again next year. They consist of Jared Allen, Ronde Barber, Tony Boselli, Leroy Butler, Torry Holt, Clay Matthews, Jr, Sam Mills, Richard Seymour, Zach Thomas and Reggie Wayne. All of these players were great but they didn’t quite make the cut this year. Luckily for them, each year brings a new opportunity for football’s highest honor and most elite club.